We use Cookies to keep the Language set to your preference. By using this website you agree to our privacy policy.

Welcome
Small topic picture

The asylum process

In the asylum process, the Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) will decide whether you can stay in Germany and what status you will be given. Therefore, good preparation is very important! The asylum process can sometimes take only a short time, or in other cases it can take a very long time.

The asylum application

First of all, you have to go to a reception facility (Erstaufnahme-Stelle, EA). Ask an advice office where the nearest EA ist. In the EA, you will make an asylum claim (Asyl-Gesuch). Later, you can make a formal application for asylum (Asyl-Antrag). Sometimes, this happens quickly, in other cases, it takes a long time.
The asylum application has to be made at the Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF). If you are living in a reception facility, you will be given the appointment for your asylum application in a letter, or a list of the appointments will be displayed in the reception facility. Ask the advisers in the reception facility. If you are living in a communal residence (Gemeinschafts-Unterkunft, GU),you will receive a letter telling you when your appointment for your asylum application is.
You have to go to this appointment. If you cannot go to the appointment (for example because you are ill), talk to an advice office.
When you make your asylum application, you have to give your personal data. Personal data means information about yourself. For example, your name, date of birth and nationality. The BAMF also carries out a travel route interview.
When you have made an asylum application, you are given a Aufenthaltsgestattung (preliminary residency permit).

The travel route interview

It is likely that you will have to say how you got to Europe and to Germany. This is known as the travel route interview. Sometimes the BAMF will send you a letter for a written travel route interview. You can also say why you do not want to return to the other country. And you can tell about anything that happened to you there.The asylum process will be done in Germany if the BAMF cannot find any proof that you were in another country. You are not allowed to lie in the travel route interview. If you cannot remember something exactly, then you should say so.
You can find more information about this in the chapter about the Dublin process.

The hearing

In the hearing, you have to tell the reasons why you fled from your country. Many people call the Anhörung the interview.

The hearing is very important. Therefore, you should prepare well. There is a brochure on the website asyl.net and a film on the website asylindeutschland.de. Ask an advice office and say that you need help for the hearing.

It may take a short time or a long time before you have your hearing.
After the hearing the BAMF decides whether or nor you can stay in Germany. The BAMF also decides with which status you are allowed to stay in Germany.
If you are living in a reception facility (EA), you will be given the appointment for the hearing in a letter, or the appointments will be in a list which is displayed in the EA. Ask the advisors in the reception facility. If you are living in a communal residence, you will be told your appointment for the hearing in a letter. You always have to be at the hearing at 8 o'clock in the morning. However, it is possible that the actual hearing will take place later. You can stay overnight in the reception facility the night before the hearing. Your expenses for travelling to the hearing will be covered. Ask the Sozialamt.
You have to go to this appointment. If you cannot go to the appointment (for example because you are ill), talk to an advice office.

Preparing for the hearing
The hearing is very important. Therefore, you should prepare well. There is a brochure on the website asyl.net and a film on the website asylindeutschland.de. Ask an advice office and say that you need help for the hearing.

Fast-track procedure for „Safe countries of origin“
The german government calls some countries „safe countries of origin“. Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Ghana, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Senegal and Serbia are currenly „safe countries of origin“. You can find more information in the chapter on information for people from „safe countries of origin“.
The BAMF often does a fast-track asylum process for people from so-called „safe countries of origin“. The BAMF wants to reject your claim quickly. Prepare yourself well for the hearing! Go quickly to an advice office!

The decision

After the hearing, it can take a short or a long time before you get the decision.
If you get a letter with the decision, contact an advice office.If you are unhappy with the decision, you can appeal to the Verwaltungsgericht (Adminitrative Court). You can find more information in the chapters onAfter the rejection of the asylum application – legal options and further perspectives, Deportation and termination of your stay in Germany and Approval of your asylum application.

When you asylum application is rejected, this does not automatically mean that you are going to be immediately deported.

The rejection notice comes in the post in a yellow envelope. There is a date on the envelope. The envelope is very important. Keep the envelope.
Sometimes you only have one week to lodge an appeal. If you make your appeal to late, you have no chance of getting your appeal heard by the court.

Long waiting times in the asylum process

Sometimes it a takes a long time before you can make your asylum application. Sometimes it also takes a long time before you have a hearing or a decision.
There is not much you can do to make things go faster. However, you can write a letter to the BAMF asking how long it is going to take. If you do not get an answer from the BAMF, you can call them. Go to an advice office. Sometimes it might be to your advantage if the asylum process takes a long time. Maybe you can use this time to create opportunities for yourself beyond the asylum process.

More information

You can find more information on the website of w2eu. This information is in Arabic, English, Farsi and French.

Wir verwenden Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung

Welcome
Small topic picture

Das Asylverfahren

Im Asyl-Verfahren entscheidet das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF), ob Sie in Deutschland bleiben dürfen und welchen Status Sie bekommen. Deshalb ist eine gute Vorbereitung sehr wichtig! Das Asyl-Verfahren dauert manchmal kurz und manchmal sehr lang.

Der Asyl-Antrag

Als Erstes müssen Sie in eine Erstaufnahme-Stelle (EA). Fragen Sie eine Beratungs-Stelle, wo die nächste EA ist. In der EA machen Sie ein Asyl-Gesuch. Später können Sie einen Asyl-Antrag machen. Das dauert manchmal kurz, manchmal dauert es sehr lange.
Den Asyl-Antrag müssen Sie beim Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) machen. Wenn Sie in der EA wohnen, bekommen Sie den Termin für den Asyl-Antrag in einem Brief oder die Termine stehen auf einer Liste, die in der EA hängt. Fragen Sie die Beratung in der Erst-Aufnahme. Wenn Sie in einer Gemeinschafts-Unterkunft (GU) wohnen, bekommen Sie den Termin für den Asyl-Antrag in einem Brief.
Sie müssen zu dem Termin gehen. Wenn Sie nicht zu dem Termin können (zum Beispiel weil Sie krank sind), sprechen Sie mit einer Beratungs-Stelle.
Wenn Sie Ihren Asyl-Antrag machen, müssen Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten sagen. Persönliche Daten sind Informationen über Sie. Zum Beispiel Ihr Name, Ihr Geburtsdatum und Ihre Nationalität. Das BAMF macht auch eine Reiseweg-Befragung.
Wenn Sie einen Asyl-Antrag gemacht haben, bekommen Sie eine Aufenthaltsgestattung.

Die Reiseweg-Befragung

Oft müssen Sie sagen, wie Sie nach Europa und Deutschland gekommen sind. Das heißt Reiseweg-Befragung. Manchmal schickt Ihnen das BAMF auch einen Brief zur schriftlichen Reiseweg-Befragung. Sie können auch dort sagen, warum Sie nicht in das andere Land zurück möchten. Und Sie können sagen, was Sie dort erlebt haben.
In der Reiseweg-Befragung dürfen Sie nicht lügen. Wenn Sie sich nicht mehr genau erinnern, sollen Sie das sagen.
Das Asyl-Verfahren wird in Deutschland gemacht, wenn das BAMF keine Beweise für Ihren Aufenthalt in einem anderen Land hat. Mehr Informationen bekommen Sie in Das Dublin-Verfahren.

Die Anhörung

Bei der Anhörung, müssen Sie die Gründe für Ihre Flucht erzählen. Viele Menschen sagen Interview zur Anhörung.

Die Anhörung ist sehr wichtig. Bereiten Sie sich gut auf die Anhörung vor. Es gibt eine Broschüre auf der Homepage asyl.net und einen Film auf der Homepage asylindeutschland.de. Fragen Sie eine Beratungs-Stelle und sagen Sie, dass Sie Hilfe für die Anhörung brauchen.

Es kann schnell gehen oder lange dauern bis Sie die Anhörung haben.
Nach der Anhörung entscheidet das BAMF, ob Sie in Deutschland bleiben dürfen. Das BAMF entscheidet auch mit welchem Status Sie in Deutschland bleiben dürfen.
Wenn Sie in der EA wohnen, bekommen Sie den Termin für die Anhörung in einem Brief oder die Termine stehen auf einer Liste, die in der EA hängt. Fragen Sie die Beratung in der Erst-Aufnahme. Wenn Sie in einer GU wohnen, bekommen Sie den Termin für den Asyl-Antrag in einem Brief. Sie müssen immer um 8 Uhr am Morgen bei der Anhörung sein. Es kann aber sein, dass die Anhörung erst später ist. Sie können die Nacht vor der Anhörung in der EA übernachten. Die Fahrt-Kosten für die Anhörung werden gezahlt. Fragen Sie das Sozialamt.
Sie müssen zu dem Termin gehen. Wenn Sie nicht zu dem Termin können (zum Beispiel weil Sie krank sind), sprechen Sie mit einer Beratungs-Stelle.

Vorbereitung auf die Anhörung
Die Anhörung ist sehr wichtig. Bereiten Sie sich gut auf die Anhörung vor. Es gibt eine Broschüre auf der Homepage asyl.net und einen Film auf der Homepage asylindeutschland.de, Fragen Sie eine Beratungs-Stelle und sagen Sie, dass Sie Hilfe für die Anhörung brauchen.

Schnellverfahren „Sichere Herkunftsstaaten“
Die deutsche Regierung nennt manche Länder „Sichere Herkunftsländer“. Albanien, Bosnien-Herzegowina, Ghana, Kosovo, Mazedonien, Montenegro, Senegal und Serbien sind gerade „sichere Herkunftsländer“. Mehr Information bekommen Sie in Informationen für Personen aus „sicheren Herkunftsländern“.
Das BAMF macht oft ein schnelles Asyl-Verfahren für Menschen aus „sicheren Herkunftsländern“. Das BAMF will Sie schnell ablehnen. Bereiten Sie sich gut auf die Anhörung vor! Gehen Sie schnell zu einer Beratungs-Stelle!

Die Entscheidung

Nach der Anhörung kann es kurz oder lange dauern, bis Sie die Entscheidung bekommen.
Wenn Sie einen Brief mit der Entscheidung bekommen, fragen Sie eine Beratungs-Stelle. Wenn Sie die Entscheidung schlecht finden, können Sie beim Verwaltungsgericht klagen. Mehr Informationen bekommen Sie in Nach der Ablehnung des Asyl-Antrags – Rechtshilfe und weitere Perspektiven, Aufenthaltsbeendigung und Abschiebung und Anerkennung des Asyl-Antrags.

Wenn der Asyl-Antrag abgelehnt ist, heißt das nicht automatisch, dass Sie sofort abgeschoben werden.

Der Ablehnungs-Bescheid kommt per Post in einem gelben Umschlag. Auf dem Umschlag steht ein Datum. Der Umschlag ist sehr wichtig. Behalten Sie den Umschlag.
Manchmal haben Sie nur 1 Woche Zeit zu klagen. Wenn Sie die Klage zu spät machen, haben Sie keine Chance auf ein Gerichts-Verfahren.

Lange Dauer Asyl-Verfahren

Manchmal dauert es sehr lange bis sie einen Asyl-Antrag machen können. Manchmal dauert es auch sehr lange bis sie eine Anhörung oder eine Entscheidung haben.
Wenn Sie wollen, dass es schneller geht, können Sie nicht viel machen. Sie können dem BAMF aber einen Brief schreiben und fragen wie lange es noch dauert. Wenn das BAMF Ihnen nicht antwortet, können Sie auch anrufen. Gehen Sie zu einer Beratungs-Stelle. Manchmal ist es gut für Sie, wenn das Asyl-Verfahren lange dauert. Vielleicht können Sie sich Perspektiven neben dem Asyl-Verfahren schaffen.

Mehr Informationen

Mehr Informationen bekommen Sie auf der Seite von w2eu. Die Informationen bekommen Sie auf Arabisch, Englisch, Farsi und Französisch.